Business as Usual – Life After Graduate School

truck-1

Hot August Nights 2014

It was just about 2 years ago this week that I received my acceptance letter to graduate school at the University of Nevada, Reno.  I was accepted in the EMBA program and I decided to go for it, because that’s how I roll.

Honestly I had no clue what kind of knowledge and growth the next two years would offer me.  I have been able to dig down and learn a lot about myself and others.  I also had the pleasure of working with world class faculty and students.  This was truly a once in a lifetime educational experience.

The journey through graduate school was long and tedious at times, but it was worth the challenge.  I have sacrificed life with family and friends, missed events and said “no I have to study” on more than a few occasions.  So now that graduate school is coming to a close I will have more free time. Which means life can go back to business as usual and I get to start sleeping more!

The outlook on life from my perspective, how “business as usual” looks is a bit different today.   I have discovered new ways of thinking about management, marketing and strategy.   I have developed great friendships with my fellow cohorts.  I have even embarked on mission to launch a li-ion battery start-up.  My career path and business skills have changed as a direct result of business graduate school.

Over the last few months, I have been able to share with you some my personal thoughts on start-ups leadership, management, motivation, coaching, balance and reaching goals.  This exercise of opening up my skill set and opinions for public consumptions was very interesting and I enjoyed it.

Business as usual does not stop in the work place.  Last night I went out with some friends to check out the classic cars at Hot August Nights.  This is one of the biggest events in Reno and it was a great opportunity for me to take some photos.  Photography is one of the activities that I missed most while studying during graduate school, but last night it was “business as usual.” I tired something new last night, I shot in all Black and White.  Please let me know what you think.

fast-car hot-rod-1rat-rodsiena

Looking forward finishing my MBA is one of the biggest challenges I have ever completed.  Because of this educational opportunity I have grown as an entrepreneur, leader and business person.   All of my skills are a little more polished and I have picked up many new tools along the way.   To me there is nothing more fulfilling than an experience that is humbling and evokes personal growth.  Graduate school was a very enlightening and humbling experience for me, which in my eyes are the best kind.  I am hoping to continue to blog about my experiences in entrepreneurship, leadership and start-ups as I work diligently with my team at Dragonfly Energy to make our company a success.   I promise not to leave out balance and photography, which are even more important now that I have accepted an even bigger challenge, launching a revolutionary tech start-up.  Life is Good, be well.

Leave a Reply

