Be a Man of Your Word

The title of this post has a direct meaning, keep reading, I am getting to it.  I promise.

One of the themes of my blog is photography and I have to admit the business topics I have been writing about have kept me away from talking about my favorite hobby.  Last week, at the end of my of work life balance post.  I promised you the readers that I would post some photography; I also said I was going to go up to the mountains for the weekend and relax.  I did just that!

On Friday morning I drove up to a little town called Graeagle in the High Sierras of Plumas County.  I spent the first day with my Aunt.  We had a blast; we went kayaking at Sardine Lake.  The best part about the kayaking adventure was that it totally spontaneous. I had never been kayaking before, I really enjoyed it.  We ended up kayaking around the entire lake, it was awesome.

The next day I woke up very early and left before dawn with my camera.   I went up to an area called Lakes Basin; I went hiking on the Long Lake loop.  There is something special about hiking early in the morning.  It’s a great time to really reflect on how life is going and what you can be doing better for yourself and others.  And if you don’t want to reflect you can just enjoy nature and the gifts of being outside. The experience was very serene and peaceful.  This was a great way to start my day (I don’t recommend hiking alone, unless it’s on a very popular trail).

I was able to get some great shots on the trail and I am happy to share them with you, enjoy.

Trail flower-blog-1 lake-2 lake-b&W

 

Well it wouldn’t be a true 4th of July weekend without more family and friends to celebrate with. I was able to spend the rest of the day with my family and we even watched fireworks, that’s right Graeagle has a fireworks show on the 5th of July.  The whole weekend is a celebration starting with a barn dance on Friday night, a daylong celebration with live music, gunslingers and civil war re-enactors during the day and then a spectacular fireworks show at night, followed up by a parade and a triathlon on Sunday.   It was truly an action packed weekend.  Here are a few pictures of the fireworks, I hope you like them.

fw-8 fw-4'
I know this is a break from my usual business topics, I am really working on balance in my life these days.  I figured it was important to share that I actually live by my own advice.

In business sometimes your word is all you have, and if you are accountable and reliable; a true man of your word, you will be respected by your peers.  This has never been truer than in management, if you want to have the respect and support of your team.  You better stand by your word and stand by your team.  This leads to my next blog series – managing people and business.  Over the years I have had many experiences in management; hopefully you will read something valuable.  If you have a topic that you want me to explore, let me know with a comment.

One thought on “Be a Man of Your Word

  1. Pingback: Leadership – 3 Skills to needed to be a Better Leader | Sky's the Limit

Leave a Reply

